Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Simplicity Video enables you to broadcast a live event in HD through YouTube.  These events can be recorded, edited and downloaded to be stored on your own corporate website or shared via a corporate YouTube channel.

Prerequisites:

Before the administrator or meeting Host can obtain an RTMP streaming URL from YouTube, they must ensure that they have a verified YouTube account, and that the account is enabled for live events.

  1. From your YouTube account settings page, select View additional features (www.youtube.com/features).
  2. If your Account status is not verified, select Verify and follow the YouTube instructions.
  3. If Live events is not enabled, click Enable. 

Setting up streaming

To stream a conference you must assign a live streaming URL via YouTube, and then add it as a participant in your Pexip conference. 

Obtaining live streaming URL

  1.  In your YouTube account go to Video Manager > Live Events (www.youtube.com/my_live_events).
  2. Select New live event (at the top right of the page).
  3. Enter the Basic info: Title The title ofthe video. Start time Set the start time to 30minutesin the past (so that it is available instantly). Privacy Select a privacy level. By default, we recommend Unlisted, which meansthat viewers must know the streaming URL to see the stream. Type Select Custom.
  4. Select Create event.
  5. You are taken to the Ingestion Settings tab:
    1. Select Basic ingestion and select a bit rate of 1500 Kbps - 4000 Kbps (720p).
    2. From the Select your encoder drop-down list, select Other encoders.
  6. Produce the RTMP URL for your stream as Primary Server URL/Stream Name:
    1. Take the Primary Server URL, for example rtmp://a.rtmp.youtube.com/live2.
    2. Append a / (slash).
    3. Then append the Stream Name, for example alice.q9fh-ma19-4zqa-5kqc. In this example, the RTMP URL is rtmp://a.rtmp.youtube.com/live2/alice.q9fh-ma19-4zqa-5kqc.
  7. Use this RTMP URL as the address of the new participant in your Simplicity Video conference.
  8. Leave the YouTube window open - you will need this page to enable the stream - instructions below.

Adding the participant URL and enabling streaming

Now that you have the YouTube streaming URL, you can add it as a participant in your Simplicity Video conference and start streaming.

  • Add the YouTube streaming URL as a new RTMP participant in the Simplicity Video VMR (Virtual Meeting Room) you want to stream.
    1. Join the conference as the Host using the Host PIN.
    2. Select Add a new participant.
    3. You must select a protocol of RTMP.
    4. Paste the streaming URL as a the address to dial and select OK.

The YouTube streaming participant will appear in the roster with a name set to the conference alias.

  • Wait for a few seconds, then from within your YouTube account, go to your YouTube Live Control Room.
  • Select Preview and Confirm.
    • After a few seconds you'll be able to Pay the preview stream.
  • Click Start Streaming and confirm to start broadcasting your media.
  • You can now Play the Public View.
    • You are now streaming to anybody who is allowed to access or find your stream (according to your Privacy settings)
  • You can select View on Watch Page (top right or your Live Control Room page) to see the normal YouTube view. This is how it appears to users who are watching the live stream and is the URL that you should share. Viewers can use standard YouTube features, including chat.

Ending streaming event

To stop streaming your Simplicity Video conference:

  1. Disconnect the streaming participant from the Virtual Meeting Room.
    1. The streaming participant appears in the roster with a name set to the conference alias.
  2. The YouTube stream will now display: "Please stand by, we're experiencing technical difficulties
    1. Note that providing the stream is still open in your YouTube Live Control Room, you can restart streaming by adding the RTMP URL to the conference again as a new participant.  
  3. In your YouTube Live Control Room, select Stop Streaming and confirm. 
  4. A few minutes after your stream has ended, it will appear under Video Manager > Videos. From here you can delete the video if you do not want it to be available for later use, or you can change its privacy settings. You can also use the YouTube video editor to combine multiple recordings, or remove parts of a recording before you publish it etc.